Senior Ellen Kessel Makes Her Way Across USA

Hi Everyone!

As some of you may already know I am riding my bike across the country next summer. I have tried to mention it at every possible opportunity. (Sometimes more than that)  I have posted my entire information page below but I understand it’s nearly finals week and honestly; No one’s got time for that! I did want to mention something to the team as a whole so I’ve posted a few quick bullet points.

1. I am riding across the country to raise AWARENESS and MONEY for AFFORDABLE HOUSING.

2. To this end I will be participating in 10 BUILDS whilst pounding out nearly 4000 MILES.

3.  I am absolutely not doing this mad endeavor alone. Just like with rowing I will be working with a team of 27 TEAMMATES through the program, “BIKE AND BUILD” (Which I wholeheartedly urge you to check out if you are looking for something worthwhile to do after graduation)

4. I am shamelessly and with only a smidgeon of guilt ASKING FOR YOUR SUPPORT

5. If you DONATE to my campaign YOU ARE HELPING TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE!

4.1 You’re helping provide resources for local housing initiatives across 11 states.

4.2 You are helping to fuel and shelter 27 riders as they through countless communities spreading awareness for affordable housing.

4.3 You are helping to make one of your teammate’s childhood dreams come true! If that doesn’t give you warm fuzzies and karma points I don’t know what will.

6. Want to know more? READ BELOW or please ASK ME QUESTIONS!

YOU CAN FIND MY PAGE AT http://bikeandbuild.org/rider/6559

THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

B&B is a non-profit that works with young adults to raise money and awareness for the affordable housing cause in the US through service-oriented cross-country cycling trips. From May 29th until August 10th, I’ll be riding from Virginia Beach to Canon Beach, Oregon with a group of around 30 riders ages 18-25. We’ll be stopping in several places on the route to volunteer on build sites with different affordable housing organizations across the country, and along the way we’ll be sleeping on floors in places like churches, schools and campgrounds to keep costs low. We’ll also be giving presentations to our host communities in an effort to raise awareness about the affordable housing cause.

Here’s where you all come in: in order to participate, each rider has to raise at least $4,500 by the time the trip starts. Part of the money will support trip expenses, and the rest will be distributed to affordable housing organizations throughout the US. My three co-leaders and I will be extremely busy over the next few months soliciting hosts, restaurants and grocery stores for food donations so that as much of the money raised will go directly to AH organizations as possible. If you have any interest in contributing to my cause, you can read my bio and make a donation here:

http://bikeandbuild.org/rider/6559

Every little bit counts and will help me get to that $4500 marker! I appreciate any help that you can offer to the cause and to my fundraising campaign! Each week I will be offering small silly incentives to donors. What is donation without some amusement after all? The incentives will range from getting to vote on the dance I will do across a state line (filming included- so please the more ridiculous the better!) to postcards in the state of your choice, to trinkets and stories sent from the road. The donor that helps me get across each milestone will receive a special package from yours truly.

Additionally if you ever have an idea for an incentive please post it to the group or message me! Don’t want a post card from across the country but you do want me to take a picture with a moose every day of my ride? Sure! Just drop me a line and I will see what I can do!

Thank you in advance to everyone who chooses to donate and even if you can’t, thanks for taking the time to read this!

Best Wishes,

Ellen Kessel

Comments are closed.

