Words for Thought

Currently I am reading “A Pearl in the Storm” by Tori Murden McClure.  She was the keynote speaker at the NCCA rowing Championships.  I became an instant fan, mesmerized by her message to the 900+ student athletes.  

From “A Pearl in the Storm” page 122.
In the end, I chose Smith College.  When my parents dropped me off at Smith, father told me, “I hope you will be a B student.”  I was shocked.  My father, a lifelong teacher, had never been happy with anything less than an A.  He explained that at an institution such as Smith, much of the learning takes place outside of the classroom.  He said, “I know that you can get an A any course that you put your mind to, but you should shoot for B’s and use your time to get the most out of the experience.”  For once I heeded my father’s advice.

Comments are closed.

