Rowing in Rio: Practice starts

Today the rowers had the opportunity to do practice starts on the course. There was a loop set up in the first 500 meters and a queue to get on the start blocks. Five crews were called in at a time, all different boat classes, they backed into the blocks, the little arm caught the bow, there was a 2 minute warning, a polling of the crew Attention……BEEP.

I had the chance to go out in a boat again today to watch. I was the only coach so I had my own private tour. I caught the USA women’s eight warming up (Meghan in 6 seat) and watched them take their practice start. I then was able to watch Emily take two practice starts.

While I was watching the sun started to shine and the lake was truley beautiful.

imageimageimage

Comments are closed.

